Food Pantry

FOOD PANTRY

The Maine Township Emergency Food Pantry provides food on an emergency basis to persons living in the greater Maine Township area. To receive assistance on a continuing basis you must reside in Maine Township.

The first Maine Township Food Pantry program began in 1981 when the Township gave out fifteen food baskets during the Christmas season. Today the Emergency Food Pantry supplies 150 boxes of food every month, which go towards feeding over 300 individuals. Each box is hand packed by township staff and volunteers with dozens of non-perishable food items to help supplement the needs of township residents in distress.

The food is donated by individuals, businesses, and local organizations such as churches, schools, and Scout programs who hold food drives to keep the Food Pantry stocked throughout the year. The Park Ridge Human Needs Task Force has been a regular contributor to the Food Pantry for many years. Monetary or food donations may be dropped off during normal business hours of 9-5 PM Monday through Friday at the Maine Township Town Hall, 1700 Ballard Rd., Park Ridge. You may also mail donations to that address.

The food pantry is open for residents Tuesday and Friday from 1-4:30 PM.

Food Pantry Financial Guidelines

Food Pantry Wish List

The following is a list of items the food pantry is currently most in need of. Please do not donate large food service size cans.

  • Macaroni & Cheese
  • Cereal
  • Juice, Juice Boxes, Kool Aid
  • Canned Tuna, Chicken, or Salmon
  • Plain Rice, Rice-A-Roni
  • Canned Fruit, Apple Sauce
  • Crackers
  • Instant Potatoes, Canned White Potatoes
  • Peanut Butter, Jelly (18 oz. maximum size)
  • Bisquick, Pancake Mix, Syrup
  • Prepared Meals – Canned Pasta Meals, Boxed Meals
  • Desserts – Cake, Cookie, & Brownie Mixes, Jell-O, Pudding, Cookies, Frosting
  • Condiments – Ketchup, Mayonaise, Mustard, Pickles
  • Beverages – Coffee, Tea, Hot Cocoa
  • Cooking Supplies – Flour, Sugar, Oil, Salt, Pepper
  • Cleaning Products – Laundry Soap, Dish Soap
  • Paper Products – Paper Towels, Toilet Paper, Kleenex
  • Storage Products – Tin Foil, Plastic Wrap
  • Personal Hygiene Products – Shampoo, Toothpaste, Bath Soap

General Assistance Summary

GENERAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS

Benefit Access Program

The benefits available through this program are:

  • Seniors Free Transit Ride
  • Persons with Disabilities Free Transit Ride
  • Secretary of State License Plate Discount

Annual Gross Household Income Limit for License Plate Discounts and Free Rides:

  • Household of 1 – $27,610
  • Household of 2 – $36,635
  • Household of 3 – $45,657

No paper applications are available. Please call General Assistance at 847-297-2510 x236 to schedule your appointment and obtain a list of documents needed.

Special Discounts

Special discounts are available for vehicle license plates and renewal stickers. To see if you qualify, please call 847-297-2510.

Energy Assistance

Beginning in the fall of each year, our Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) can help low-income persons with a one-time credit toward their winter utility bills. Seniors and disabled individuals apply in October. Seniors, disabled individuals, and families with children under the age of 6 apply in November. Any resident can apply in December.

Monthly (30 days) Gross Household Income Limit:

  • Household of 1 – $1,485
  • Household of 2 – $2,003
  • Household of 3 – $2,520
  • Household of 4 – $3,038
  • Household of 5 – $3,555
  • Household of 6 – $4,073
  • Household of 7 – $4,591
  • Household of 8 – $5,111

Please call General Assistance at 847-297-2510 x236 to schedule your appointment.

Public Aid Advocacy For Medicaid And Food Stamps

If you want help filling out forms to apply for Public Aid or Medicaid, one of our experienced staffers will be happy to assist you! Please call 847-297-2510 to schedule an appointment.

Health Insurance

Maine Township provides free assistance to persons who have problems or questions about their health insurance. Trained Senior Health Insurance Program (SHIP) representatives can answer questions on health insurance benefits and coverage, particularly Medicare, Medicare Supplements, and Long Term Care Insurance. To make an appointment with our SHIP representative call 847-297-2510.

Prescription Discount Program

Do you have Rx insurance? Stop by Maine Township and pick up your FREE Coast2CoastRx Discount Prescription Card and receive a discount on your prescriptions. Anyone can use the card. It covers drugs not covered in health plans along with many pet prescriptions! Save money on health expenses that are not covered by insurance. Please call 847-297-2510 for more information.

Pharmaceutical Assistance Advocacy Program

This program is for persons using prescription medications for specific ailments. Please call 847-297-2510 for more information.

Senior and Disabled Services

Senior and disabled citizens are an integral and vital part of the Maine Township community. We recognize that some members of our disabled and senior community may occasionally need assistance, and we are here to help. Maine Township has a Senior Disabled Advocate who acts as a clearing house for programs sponsored not only by the township, but also by the state, county, and local government.

Any Maine Township resident who finds himself or herself in a difficult financial, medical or personal situation should visit our offices and speak to one of our trained staff to find out what kind of services may be available to accommodate their needs.

Some programs to inquire about:

Telephone Assistance

This federal program provides discounted phone installation and monthly phone service. Please call 847-297-2510 for more information.

Transportation

Maine Township sponsors a subsidized taxicab program entitled MaineLines. It helps low-income people who are disabled pay for transportation in and around Maine Township. To see if you qualify for this program contact 847-297-2510.

Veterans Benefits Advocacy

Maine Township recognizes that some members of our veterans community may occasionally need assistance, and we are here to help. General Assistance has trained staff that act as a clearinghouse for programs sponsored by the Veterans Administration and are knowledgeable about other agencies and programs that may benefit the veteran.

We will try to assist any veteran who finds themselves in a difficult financial, medical, or personal situation, or any veteran who is frustrated with the forms and “red tape.” Contact our office and speak to one of our staff to find out what kind of services may be available.

 

Staff Directory

STAFF DIRECTORY

Administration
Laura J. Morask | Supervisor | lmorask@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x224 | 224-257-4832 (direct)
Dayna Berman | Administrator | dberman@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x237 | 224-257-4846 (direct)
Doriene Prorak | Assistant to the Supervisor | dprorak@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x251 | 224-257-4829 (direct)
Vicki Rizzo | Administrative Assistant | vrizzo@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x281 | 224-257-4828 (direct)
Denise Jajko | Bookkeeper | djajko@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x239 | 224-257-4847 (direct)
Tracy Cummings | Receptionist | tcummings@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x221

Assessor
Susan Moylan Krey | Assessor | smkrey@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x228 | 224-257-4876 (direct)
Elizabeth Coy | Chief Deputy Assessor | lcoy@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x227 | 224-257-4866 (direct)
Debra Babich | Deputy Assessor | dbabich@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x227 | 224-257-4858 (direct)
Sam Dababneh | Deputy Assessor | sdababneh@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x226 | 224-257-4830 (direct)
Dee Phillips | Deputy Assessor | dphillips@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x226 | 224-257-4838 (direct)

Clerk
Peter Gialamas | Clerk | pgialamas@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x242 | 224-257-4865 (direct)
Wiesia Tytko | Chief Deputy Clerk | wtytko@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x222 | 224-257-4864 (direct)
Roz Luburich | Deputy Clerk | rluburich@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x225 | 224-257-4842 (direct)
Annette Galante | Deputy Clerk | agalante@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x223 | 224-257-4875 (direct)
Cathy Fredericksen | Deputy Clerk | cfredericksen@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x225 | 224-257-4842 (direct)

Code Enforcement
Mike Samaan | Code Enforcement Officer | msamaan@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x259 | 224-257-4840 (direct)

Emergency Management
Dagmar Rutzen | Director | dagmar44@ameritech.net | 847-297-5911

Food Pantry
Carol Langan | Director | clangan@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x268 | 224-257-4855 (direct)

General Assistance
Marsha Warnick | Director | mwarnick@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x230 | 224-257-4852 (direct)
Kathy Sabbini | Assistant Director | ksabbini@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x235 | 224-257-4854 (direct)
John Ulrey | Senior and Disability Information Specialist | julrey@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x257 | 224-257-4859 (direct)
Karen Cohen | Disability and Senior Advocate | kcohen@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x229 | 224-257-4851 (direct)
Luz Meneses | Caseworker | lmeneses@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x231 | 224-257-4860 (direct)
Alicia Brzezinski | Office Manager | abrzezinski@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x236 | 224-257-4848 (direct)

Highway Department
Walter Kazmierczak | Highway Commissioner | MTHighway@aol.com | 847-297-5225
Bob Brzezinski | Director | bobmthd@mainetown.com | 847-297-5225
Dawne Hayman | Office and Grant Administrator | dhayman@mainetown.com | 847-297-5225
Peter Douvalakis | Road Maintenance | 847-297-5225
Jason Fox | Road Maintenance | 847-297-5225
Justin Mac Intyre | Road Maintenance | 847-297-5225
Richard Brandes | Road Maintenance | 847-297-5225
Peter Jimenez | Road Maintenance | 847-297-5225

MaineStay Youth & Family Services
Richard Lyon, MA, LCPC, CADC, CAMS-II | Director | rlyon@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x261 | 224-257-4869 (direct)
Anna Lydka, MA, LCPC | Assistant Director | alydka@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x258 | 224-257-4861 (direct)
Jesse Cornejo, PhD, LCPC | Family Therapist | jcornejo@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x274 | 224-257-4863 (direct)
Naomi Bowman, MS, LPC | Family Therapist | nbowman@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x273 | 224-257-4849 (direct)
Robert Barder, MA, LPC, AMFT | Family Therapist | rbarder@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x270 | 224-257-4856 (direct)
Oksana Bukaczyk | Agency and Program Coordinator | obukaczyk@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x275 | 224-257-4841 (direct)
Anne Camarano | Youth Program Coordinator | acamarano@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x272 | 224-257-4853 (direct)
Austin Kelso | Office Manager | akelso@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x283 | 224-257-4839 (direct)

MaineStreamers
Marie Dachniwsky | Director | mdachniwsky@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x260 | 224-257-4834 (direct)
Therese Tully | Assistant Director | ttully@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x244 | 224-257-4836 (direct)
Monika Jaroszewicz | Program Coordinator | mjaroszewicz@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x252 | 224-257-4835 (direct)
Debra O’Brien | Senior Associate | dobrien@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x241 | 224-257-4831 (direct)

Recovery Connection
Marty Cook | Director | mcook@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x233 | 224-257-4871(direct)
Jonathon Kaehn | Peer Advocate | jkaehn@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x233 | 224-257-4871 (direct)
Nick Kanehl | Peer Support Advocate | nkanehl@mainetown.com | 847-297-2510 x233 | 224-257-4871 (direct)

 

Services

ASSESSOR

Property Tax Appeal

Property Tax Exemption

 

 

CLERK

Handicapped Parking Placards

Hunting & Fishing Licenses

Notary

Passports

Vehicle Stickers

Voter Registration

 

 

General Assistance

Benefit Access

Energy Assistance

Prescription Discounts

Public Aid Advocacy

Transportation

 

 

Highway Department

Branch Pickup

Permits

 

 

 

 

 

 

Code Enforcement

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Food Pantry

 

 

 

 

 

MaineStay Youth & Family Services

Anger Management

Community Service

Family Therapy

Parenting Support

Psychiatric Services

 

 

MaineStreamers

Senior Programs

Senior Expo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recovery Connection